City Council Elections

City Council Elections are held on the first Saturday in May every year.  The Mayor, Place 2 and Place 4 are in even years and Places 1, 3 and 5 are in odd numbered years.  The next regularly scheduled General Election is May 1, 2021.  More Election information can be found at the Texas Secretary of State’s Election Division website.  

Early voting typically starts a few weeks before the actual election date. As elections dates get closer, more detailed information will be made available on this page.  In order to vote in city elections, you must be registered with the State of Texas. Voter registration for West Lake Hills residents is handled by the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector.

2021 General Election

The City’s General Election for 2021 is scheduled for Saturday, May 1, 2021, for the purpose of electing the following positions:

Councilmember Place 1
Councilmember Place 3
Councilmember Place 5

Candidate Applications

Councilmember Place 1
   1. Rhonda McCollough, Incumbent

Councilmember Place 3
   1. Beth South, Incumbent

Councilmember Place 5
  1. Gordon Bowman, Candidate

Important Election Documents

Important Election Dates

  • Wednesday, January 13, 2021: First Day to File an Application for Place on the Ballot
  • Friday, February 12, 2021: Last Day to File an Application for Place on the Ballot 
  • Tuesday, February 16, 2021: - Deadline for Write-in Candidates to File Declarations of Write-In Candidacy (PDF) 
  • Thursday, April 1, 2021: Last Day to Register to Vote for the May 1, 2021 Election
  • Monday, April 19, 2021: First Day to Vote Early in Person
  • Tuesday, April 27, 2021: Last Day to Vote Early in Person
  • Saturday, May 1, 2021: Election Day, Polls Open 7am - 7pm